Home.

Yesterday afternoon, I was released from the transplant ward, room 8. After many, many trips to the car, the team was finally ready to make the 15 minute car ride home. And oh, what a car ride it was. I felt like a dog, smelling the sea for the first time. I had the biggest smile on my face. I was finally going home.

My apartment looks and feels completely different. My wonderful cousins and loved ones lead by my aunt Ruthie turned the apartment into a brand-new home. It’s beautiful and I am excited to soak up all the new-ness.

Coming home is wonderful and amazing. It is also scary and overwhelming. My doctor said something yesterday that is sitting with me. He said that post-transplant, it takes a while for your soul to catch up to what happened to your body. Anxiety and fear are completely normal feelings to experience at this time. I resonate with that deeply. I know I am home, but my normal life is quite far from my reality. I am still bed-bound. I am still weak. I am still taking a bucket of pills a day. I am still the girl in the bubble.

Despite all that, my joy is boundless. I know there is tough journey ahead, but I feel cared for and loved deeply, which makes this all a lot easier.

This morning, I woke up as the sun was rising. It was amazing. Here’s what it looked like from my window.

sunriseposttransplant

I want to thank everyone for their beautiful, packages and emails and videos and all the love from around the globe. This experience was different than my first transplant, because I finally let you all in. I could not have made a better decision.

With love and light and joy and anxiety and everything in between.

HealeyOr

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Milla on April 7, 2014 at 1:29 pm

    So happy you’re home. I hope the recovery period isn’t too long. It’s so good to hear how much support you have over there, wish I could be there too to visit and keep you company. Sending you love from the land of Pachamama.

    Reply

  2. You are inspiration embodied by a magnificent creature. You’re beautiful and loving and courageous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

